NICE Categories 7

Categories provide the overarching organizational structure of the NICE Framework. There are seven Categories and all are composed of Specialty Areas and work roles. This organizational structure is based on extensive job analyses, which group together work and workers that share common major functions, regardless of job titles or other occupational terms.

NIST SP 800-181
Code Name Specialty Areas Work Roles
SP Securely Provision 7 11
OM Operate and Maintain 6 7
OV Oversee and Govern 6 14
PR Protect and Defend 4 4
AN Analyze 5 7
CO Collect and Operate 3 6
IN Investigate 2 3